Skip to content

Ginger Snaps

August 27, 2010

I’ve not done any baking from scratch because I haven’t really found a recipe easy and fool- proof enough.

So, I’m sticking to pre- mixed.

It takes skills to not screw up pre- mixed ok!

Outfit For The Day

If you’ve been following my twit, you’ll know that I ran out of Ginger Snaps.

So, instead of buying them, I decided to bake some.

Betty Crocker's Gingerbread

With different additional ingredients, you can have a choice between Gingerbread Cake, Gingersnaps and Soft Ginger Cookies.

My choice, Gingersnaps.

F.Y.I, I bought this premix from Market Place Raffles City, and I’m not sure if they have it in Fairprice because the F.P in B.M and other few that I’ve gone to doesn’t have it.

Additional Ingredients: 1/4 cup hot water; 2 tablespoon melted butter; 2 tablespoon multi- purpose flour

I was searching high and low for multi- purpose flour in the kitchen, and found none.

So, I decided to buy some, only to find out that multi- purpose flour is actually plain flour.

Wah lau eh! Plain flour then write plain flour la! Put multi- purpose flour for what!!!!

Another irritating thing is that instead of putting the amount of butter in grams (g), they wrote 2 TABLESPOONS.

Yes, you might say that it’s melted butter, so it’s easier to measure in terms of tablespoons.

BUT, are you freakin’ going to melt the whole butter, and then scoop out 2 measly tablespoons?!

Cut in grams then melt right!

Think funny is it!

Ok, I’ve calmed down now.

🙂

Heat oven to 190 degree Celsius.

Stir gingerbread mix, water, flour and butter in bowl, using spoon, till dough forms.

Shape dough into 1 inch balls. Place balls 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten to 2 inches in diameter with greased bottom of glass.

In case you’re wondering why there’s a design on my Ginger Snaps.

This is the reason.

It definitely looks prettier than a plain ol’ circle.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until edges are firm.

*Do not overbake*

Cool for 1 minute before removing from cookie sheet.

And store completely cooled cookies in airtight container.

Ginger Snaps with Love 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

