Skip to content

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam Day 1

May 31, 2011

Hello from Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam!

I'm finally in HCMC!

It’s currently 2303hrs here in HCMC, 0003hrs in Singapore.

Will be staying with my cousin Von for the next few days.

Von buying SIM card for me :))

She was telling me how crazily expensive international calls/smses are over here.

So, she got me a SIM card.

If you’ve seen my Twitter, I was complaining about how hungry I was while waiting to fly to HCMC.

First stop in HCMC

Hungry, must eat!

First meal: Bún chả

*will update with the name of the dish. i know it’ originated from Hanoi, Vietnam*

White rice noodle (bún) and a bowl of sauce that contains grilled meat pork and slices of green papaya.

Accompanying foods include nem(fried spring rolls).

It was good.

Yum yum~!

She got a chauffeur to bring us around town, to some of the “touristy” places.

Saigon Central Post Office (Bưu điện Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh)

 It’s a functioning post office.

Left: Phone Booths

 Loads of tourists like to take photos in these phone booths.

But I didn’t!

Right: ATM machines

Souvenirs

Across from the post office was Notre Dame

Saigon Notre-Dame Basilica (Vương cung thánh đường Đức Bà Sài Gòn or Nhà thờ Đức Bà Sài Gòn)

The Vietnam version of it.

But it’s REALLY called Notre Dame!

Virgin Mary Statue

Saigon Opera House (Nhà hát lớn Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh)

Louis Vuitton spotted

Rex Hotel

Courtyard in Rex Hotel

 Colonial style achitecture was kept intact.

Ho Chi Minh City Hall (Trụ sở Ủy ban Nhân dân Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh)

Saigon Tax Trade Centre (Trung Tâm Thương mại Thương xá Tax)

Ciao Cafe for traditional Vietnamese coffee

 We stopped for coffee.

Since Vietnam is famous for its coffee, definitely must try!

But it wasn’t to my liking, because it was really strong and sweet.

Bleph!

And I saw this.

Street Mani/ Pedi

Yes! Mani/ Pedi right there outside the cafe.

Can choose colour some more!

It’s the full EXPRESS mani/ pedi experience!

After coffee, we headed for dinner.

And our car passed by Cho Bến Thành!

Bến Thành Market

Definite must go for me.

I’m curious about the things they sell and how cheap they can be.

Place for dinner

You wanna See-Food?!

Along the way around town, I’ve spotted this.

Loads of electrical cables hanging, and LOADS of motor cycles

The electrical cables are “draped” from electrical poles.

And we’re not talking about a few electrical wires.

It’s a whole BIG chunk of wire!!

And there’re really alot alot ALOT of motorcycles going around.

REALLY ALOT!

"Snails" in coconut milk

Like i always say, sweet stuff should always be sweet, and savoury should be savoury.

Seafood, should be savoury, but the “snail” dish was kinda sweet.

Not exactly to my liking.

Clam with Lemon Grass

It’s like a non-sour and non-spicy Tom Yum dish.

Not bad.

Steamed Flower Crab

I’m not a fan of crab because it’s very troublesome getting the flesh out from the shell.

And if I were to have it, it’ll usually be Chilli Crab.

But the Steamed Flower Crab tasted really fresh, and the flesh was succulent.

NO FISHY SMELL!

*thumbs up*

That’s all for today.

I shall end this post with a picture of my room.

My bedroom for the next few days 🙂

Will show you guys the house tomorrow!

🙂

‘Nite people!

P.S: Love & miss you M.H!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

