Skip to content

Only Food

August 3, 2011

Today’s entry is about food, food and more food.

When Von was back, I spent almost everyday with her, and on a random Sunday, we went in search of Beef Noodles.

We drove all the way to Toa Payoh.

Blk 22 Toa Payoh Lorong 7 #01-06, Toa Payoh Food Centre

We found this stall online.

Many sites claimed that it serves the “Best Beef Noodles” in Singapore.

So, we went.

海南星洲牛肉粉 ( Hai Nan Xing Zhou Beef Noodles)

It’s stated in the sites that the stall opens at 8a.m and closes once they’re out.

When we arrived, there was a freakin’ long queue.

And I queued for almost 15 minutes.

Von's (Dry) Beef Noodles

Mine (Soup) Beef Noodles

I’ve got to say that to me, it’s NOT THE BEST I’ve tasted.

The best I’ve had was when I was in primary school, at this coffee shop in Siglap.

This one, the soup was a little too sweet.

Sweet as in sugar-sweet.

I’m just glad that the soup was thick enough, and they give a fair amount of beef.

Wasn’t horrible, I wouldn’t mind going back for more.

But the next time, I’m definitely going to try the dry one.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

On another random day, I was out with Yinghui.

I was very hungry at that time, and we settled our meal at 鼎泰豐 (Din Tai Fung).

We ordered two dishes to share.

This is my current favourite at 鼎泰豐.

红油炒手

It’s pronounced Hong2 You2 Chao2 Shou3 ( I think it’s Chao2, correct me if I’m wrong)

But I kept calling it 红油猪手

It’s damn good!

Alittle oily, but DAMN GOOD!

And the all time favourite.

小笼包

There was a period of time I refused to eat meat dumplings, because during my secondary school days, I once had too many 锅贴(Pot Stickers) and I puked.

And I stopped having meat dumplings for nearly three years.

Anyway, have you guys noticed how disgusting 小笼包s are once they’re not piping hot?

The “soup” in the dumpling becomes jelly-ish.

Major gross factor!!

But still, love 红油炒手!!!

Definitely a must have when I dine at 鼎泰豐.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Yesterday, I was out having dinner with Jasmine (Jimmiepoots).

And we went to Brussel Sprouts.

I read about Brussel Sprouts in a couple of blogs, and just had to try it because I LOVE mussels!

We went to the one at Robertson Quay instead of the one at Playground @ Big Splash.

Different ways of having your mussels and clams

From the menu, you can choose to have your mussels/clams done the way you like.

And we ordered Lindemans Framboise (Raspberry).

Lindemans Framboise (Raspberry)

It’s beer with raspberry juice.

Totally love it!

For people like Y.H who hates the taste of beer, you guys should really try it.

The raspberry taste covers the taste of beer.

Poulette

The broth the mussels were cooked in are made with mushrooms, chicken stock, cream, butter and parsley.

The broth was creamy, and good enough to drink.

But, the mussels were not as big and succulent as I expected them to be.

😦

The 2nd mussel dish we ordered, we deeply regretted having.

Fritter

Mussels battered and deep fried with coriander and citrus mayonnaise.

It was like eating deep fried batter.

My first piece, I was still wondering, ‘O, I’ve just eaten a piece of deep fried batter without the mussel.’

Unfortunately, it was the same with the other pieces.

I believe it would have been better if the pieces of mussels were a little bigger, and coated with a slightly thinner coat of batter.

I kept complaining to Jimmiepoots that we should have ordered the Tom Yum mussel.

😦

Free-flow Chunky Fries

Mussels/ clams that you order comes with free flow of fries.

I’ve no complains about the fries.

🙂

Brussel Sprouts have a on-going promotion.

From Monday to Thursday, 5pm-7pm, 10pm-12am.

2 pots of starter sized mussels/clams are going at S$25

2 pots of main sized mussels/clams are going at S$50.

Without promotion,

1 pot of starter sized mussels/clams is going at S$18.50

1 pot of main sized is going at S$38.50.

Quite a steal.

For more details on on-going promotions, check out the Brussel Sprouts website.

Here’s a photo of one of the toys Cheryl, Mignonne and Princeton share.

Princeton's Moosey Friend

That’s all I have for today’s food entry.

After reading this entry, aren’t you guys hungry????

Shall update again VERY soon.

🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

